How the &$@# am I that size?!

Anyone who has ever tried on a piece of clothing knows that size is totally subjective…

Depending on the brand, where the garment is manufactured, and who the audience of the garment is marketed towards, you can be a size small in one brand and a size large in another. Quite frustrating from a consumer’s standpoint. Where my girls at?!

Prior to completing the Productions Standards assignment for the Parsons x Teen Vogue certificate program, I was researching how to standardize sizing in the fashion world…I am a problem solver/fixer and this is one area that has been on my mind to “fix” for quite some time…There has to be a better way to do this. I encountered a company from Spain that was cataloging what size you are in specific brands, based on your measurements. Since then, the website has been disabled…Sigh…Another, story for another day…

Back to the assignment…I had to head to a store that carries several brands of clothing (I went to a local Target). I selected the Mossimo brand and the Merona brand to assess consistency and tried on a top, a dress, a pair of pants and a jacket in each brand.

The Mossimo brand items fit me in a consistently larger size than the Merona brand items. My initial thought is that Merona is meant for a more mature, “working gal” consumer, whereas Mossimo is more on the younger end of the spectrum and more in the fast-fashion lane of college/high school age consumers.

The item that fit me the best was a simple eggplant tank top by Merona. Per the instructions, I tried on every identical item in the same size to assess any differences in fit.

Here is what I discovered in trying on 4 “identical” tops:

–The hemline was not consistently the same girth. One top would feel just right around the hemline, and another would feel too tight like I could break through the thread just from putting it over my head.

–The neckline was not at a consistent height.

–The length of the garment was not the same across each “identical” top. Some were long past my bum, and others hit right around the mid hip spot despite being the “same” size.

After completing this research, it is even more obvious how it is not only impossible to standardize sizing, but there is not a universal size for anyone! Each person, especially women, has a unique shape.

This makes me think we might consider reverting back to custom made clothing. This is likely a more expensive route for the consumer up front, but in the end, will decrease waste and increase consumer satisfaction with pieces that fit perfectly. Hmmm….

 

Leave a Reply

